Skip to content
Poster for Only the Fire
Le Fresnoy

Only the Fire

2013 40 min French
Wubly rating 5.5 IMDb rating 6.3

At the end of June in Paris: Mireille accompanies his friend Thomas, a solitary and restless being, during a walk to Père Lachaise. Thomas is very agitated, worried. He confides to Mireille that he wishes to be cremated in the event of death. In September: after a period of holidays, Mireille returns at her home. She and his friends do not any more manage to contact Thomas. After investigation, Mireille learns that Thomas died in August, only. As he has no family his body was interred in the square of the needy of the new cemetery of Thiais. Mireille wants to honor the last wills of his friend, but the law is strict: to dig up the body and cremate it, the services of the city hall have to have the signature of a member of Thomas's family. Mireille learns that Thomas had a younger brother, Melchior. But But the young man, marginalized, abandoned for years by his older brother, refuses to sign the licence to dig up.

Where to watch

Not streaming anywhere

Not on any streaming service in United States, and not available to rent.

Your rating

Your review

Cast

24 people

Christophe Pellet Director

First release October 20, 2013 · Produced in France · Production Sedna Films, Le Fresnoy Studio National des Arts Contemporains

Production

L

Le Fresnoy

Production

S

Sedna Films

Production

L

Le Fresnoy Studio National des Arts Contemporains

Production

R

Région Aquitaine

Production

France

Produced in

Languages

Original title

Seul le feu

Original language

French

Spoken on screen

French

Release dates

France · October 20, 2013

Premiere · Paris Gay and Lesbian Film Festival

No release date listed for United States.

More from Christophe Pellet

Some details come from TheTVDB.

Share

wubly

Track it on Wubly

Wubly is invitation-only during the beta. Join the waitlist and we'll email you an invitation.

Have an invitation? Sign up

You're offline

Recently viewed pages still work. Your changes save locally and sync when you're back.

Back online · syncing